I Couldn’t Remember My Own Name

Rhythm of my heart is not anymore like it used to be;

Crazy for you and full of speed

.

Within me, there was this kind of maze

full of knots and waves of nervousness

I was so smitten, so head over heels, love struck and weak in the knees

I couldn’t remember my home or my place

.

Our kiss was something we both captured

Just like a precious polaroid we kept

But it was you throwing it away;

Anything

Everything

That was ours

.

I couldn’t remember my own name when I looked at you

and you looked at me

I couldn’t remember my own home, my own place

.

I’m thinking back and I’m hissing under my breath for everyone to hear, for everyone to see;

“How stupid that must have been!”

Leave a Reply

