What Gets Me Through Sleepless Nights

I’m staring at a bottle of wine

In the past it was untouched

But now it is broken into shards

I drink whiskey real greedy, from the dusty bottle

A bottle of whiskey I never used and thought I’d never would in the future

But here I am and I know I’ve been lying to myself because  I’m far from being sober

And I keep listening to those sad, sad songs from Brandy Clark again and again

And I keep waiting

until this horrible night ends

When I’m without you

This night is like one of the thousands: when I’m drowning in loneliness

Those warm sheets can’t replace you and your radiating warmth

I’m living in emptiness

Leave a Reply

