In The Black Of Night

I’m waiting for my bus in the black  of night

But the bus is leaving before me;

Me and my tear-stained blurry sight

Looks like I won’t be home tonight

I won’t be washing the dishes

I won’t be pouring myself some “after dinner” coffee

I won’t be pouring myself some “before bedtime” whiskey

I won’t be smoking some cigarette on the balcony 

I won’t be staring at my early morning face in the mirror, the next day when I’m brushing my teeth

No I won’t be lying underneath a warm sheet tonight

Leave a Reply

