The Taste Of Beer

Hot summer days,

Like this aren’t always lasting forever.

T-Shirts sticking against sun-tanned skins with layers of undried sunscreen

And parts of itching sand (they were never unseen).

.

We’re drinking beer from our plastic dixie cups.

Luke Bryan blasting out of the speakers,

Sand covered sneakers,

Salty lips,

Well-worn beachslippers.

.

We’re seeing feet slip away into soft sand by the shore

That ‘ol sand’s so wet;  we’re all so sure

.

“We will never forget,

But tell me buddy, do you want to know,

The taste of beer?”

.

The seawind’s bringing me here back again,

By the pier.

And I’m staring at the horizon,

With a beer in my hand.

I know this summer’s so sencire

With you, my friend.

.

“So, will you ever forget,

Do you still know,

The taste of beer, my friend?”

Leave a Reply

