Champagne

Before midnight

I find myself in this cold livingroom

The TV’s on since noon

I’m searching for a little distraction

The lights are out

Happy feelings are for later on, I believe

I ask myself ; when would I end this year in relief,

and when wouldn’t I think about you anymore?

But it so hard

So I open the champagne bottle

A wine for celebration

I never thought I’d drink this new year, like I did before

I pour the liquor in my bleeding wineglass

And I still hear and see your name coming up into the fireworks

And suddenly my old feelings are coming up like the flames from the fireplace

I know my helpless heart still has its place for you

Leave a Reply

