My Plaidshirts In Your Chevy Truck

My plaidshirts are still lying in your Chevy Truck

Apparently we knew

 what we had could be stuck soon enough in a puddle of blood

Darling it’s no good

Why do you still have my plaidshirts in your Chevy Truck?

I want my clothes back..

But they let your mind go back to that one time when you would place your arm around my waist

There was no time to waste

You really wanted to see the sunrise

With our feet sinking into the sand from the shore

 & You said:

“Darling we never saw a sunset quite as wonderful as before”

.

Evertime when you put your nose in the fabric of my plaidshirts

They let you remind the person you miss: 

Me

My plaidshirts smell like beer and sand

And darling they remind you of Nauset Beach

The warmth of the summersun on our sheets

The way I danced and sang along to “Buzzkill” 

I guess Luke Bryan’s lyrics finally make sense

Why do you still ruin my parties

By showing up

.

My other plaidshirt that you still have is covered in coffeestains that were spilled out of your coffeecup

Mornings when you would wake me up before my alarmclock 

.

Why do you still have my plaidshirts in your Chevy Truck?

I want my clothing back..

Leave a Reply

