Tucking You Into Bed

Here I am,

I’m alone again;

In this dark living room.

.

If you’re wondering what your father’s about?

He was going to bed very soon,

He’s been sleeping for hours.

I’ve been weeping on this chouch for hours

I’m yawning but I know I will never fall asleep,

Like your daddy does so carefree.

I’ll be still awake when the break of dawn comes

.

I know,

You’ve grown so fast,

Too fast,

You’re 23,

Daddy’s 52,

And I’m 50.

Honey, I hope you’ll see my love for you will last.

It isn’t easy to see you live your own life,

But when you’re getting an adult people say it’s about time.

You’re so young,

23,

You have so many years to live.

.

Do you mind if I find myself in your old bedroom,

Every night?

Do you mind if I’m still staring at the  colorful painted walls?

During this evening,

Everything comes back to me.

I see every memory:

From tucking a happy 5 year old you in your warm bed,

From a 16 year old crying you, calling me at midnight asking me to pick you up at a ruined party.

I know,

You’ve grown so fast,

Too fast.

You’re 23,

Daddy’s 52,

And I’m 50.
Honey I hope you see my love for you will last.

It isn’t easy to see you live your own life,

But when you’re getting an adult people say it’s about time..

Leave a Reply

